New

There are some new things going on in my life.

1.We got a new bike rack!
Photobucket
(This photo sums up why I could never be one of those bloggers who puts a dozen pictures of themselves in every post. I am just too painfully attractive most days)

By “new” I mean we got the towers and bars from a family I used to nanny for, and then bought used bike racks at Rerack (which if you’re in Portland and need a bike rack is the place to go-super helpful, and cheap!)

So we’ve been getting in more bike rides. I broke down and bought spandex shorts. Hawt.

2. I got a new job! Part time, so I’ll still be teaching as well, but I’m working about 15 hours a week at a church so that’s fun. I get to travel to exotic places like Olympia and Spokane. Yay?

3. We got a new restaurant in our hood! And oh my word friends it’s legit. It’s called Verde Cocina and it’s mexican food with a focus on fresh and local ingredients.Ā  They have a lot of vegetarian/vegan options and pretty much everything is gluten free. Delicious, and Hillsdale was in need of somewhere new to eat. We’ve been twice. The first visit I had the gringas

Photobucket

Which were pork tacos with mole sauce and garbanzo bean mash served with veggies and beans.

And the husband had the Buenos Dias which involved local eggs and bacon over veggies and beans plus tortillas (which they make in house)
Photobucket
We did a dinner there too. Our grill is out of gas. And somehow, repeatedly eating out wins over refilling it (or using the actual kitchen in August). Meals out have been winning lately.

And who doesn’t like an excuse to eat some salmon for dinner?
Photobucket
it came with the garbanzo mash and veggies plus blackberry salsa (which was fantastic-had some nice spice!)

Also exciting? Two doors down from Verde Cocina we’re getting a new brewery! More places to get crunk in our hood = better. Always.

and on not new notes, Bliss is an idiot, like always.
Photobucket
Ignorance really is Bliss.

What’s new with you friends?

10 responses to “New

  1. SNORT. Love the cat picture. My cats are spazzes too.

    YAY on the bike rack and hawt shorts. You should join Michael and I for a ride! Maybe….the Harvest Century ride? šŸ™‚

  2. You’re taking me to Verde Cocina when we come to Portland, right?

    Bliss is my fave. I love how cute he is.

  3. Well, I think I’ll be moving to your neighborhood. Nothing beats good Mexican food. And beer. Definitely up for some beer.

  4. SPOKEEEEEZY! Now that’s adventure! šŸ™‚

  5. loving the bike rack photo

  6. Congratulations on the new job!!!!

  7. I love the cat picture. That restaurant looks great, another excuse to cross the river and go to Hillsdale!

  8. OOOOO SPOKANNNE. jealous..

  9. Olympia and Spokane? Where the heck is that? Haha! Congrats on your new job and your new awesome bike rack. And please! You’re adorable, and I think there should be more Kalin pictures. šŸ™‚

  10. you getting a bike rack=you are truly a PDX local

Leave a Reply

