A Real Spudnut Moment

So, I come from an area I like to call surreal America.

Because it’s like real America (we enjoy Olive Garden, have an annual rodeo, drive trucks, and do our best to not elect democrats), but weirder. Things like this make the front page of the news

Radioactive tumbleweeds. Causing an oil spill. You can’t make this stuff up.

It’s also a place where Sarah Palin spends Thanksgiving

And, sometimes, gives illogical shoutouts to local businesses

We visited this weekend for Daddy’s Day, and after busting out a long run Saturday morning, we, like Sarah, had a spudnut moment
Photobucket
I’ve eaten many a spudnut in my day. But mostly I let other people pick them up for me, so I hadn’t hit up the actual shop in a long time.

Turns out?

This is the sort of store that you’d feature on Fox News.
Photobucket
AMERICA.

The mix of over the top Americana with 50 year old booths and no sense of irony?

I love my hometown.

We got a couple spudnuts
Photobucket
(perfect recovery food, right?)

and I thought of how proud Sarah would be of us.

Know what they tasted like?
Photobucket
FREEDOM.

3 responses to “A Real Spudnut Moment

  1. Mm, that last doughnut even LOOKS like freedom 😀 Glad I’m not the only one originating from an awesome hokey-doke town (favorite frontpage-worthy news story? A man being accidentally killed by a crate full of chickens.)

  2. It has been so long since I’ve had a donut – I could use one right now!!!

  3. Omg I need to visit surreal America to taste American food!! Btw come visit Colorado with j!

Leave a Reply

