Romantical

So, remember when I blogged on a regular basis?

Nah, me neither.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes! In addition to my birthday, it was also my husband’s! His comes 9 days before mine. To celebrate our birthdays, we had a super romantic dinner.

And by super romantic I mean beer dinner!

There are lots of brewmaster dinners around town. Usually they’re expensive and involve fancy food.

We’re cheap. And decidedly not fancy. So we never go. But, this month there was one at a BBQ spot.
Photobucket
Beer and ribs?

My husband died and went to heaven.

The dinner was at Podnah’s Pit in NE Portland, with beer from the always amazing Double Mountain.
Photobucket

Lots of beers to choose from
Photobucket
and it was all you can drink. For real.

There were house cured meats and pickles and things to start
Photobucket

Followed up with a wedge salad
Photobucket
This was delicious. Like, ridiculously good. It had blue cheese dressing. I hate blue cheese, and I still cleaned by plate. That good.

Then… the main attraction

So many sides
Photobucket
Which were delicious (the beans? Amaaaaazing) but did get in the way of the most important thing

The meats
Photobucket
Ribs, brisket, chicken, smoked prime rib, and hot links.

I died. Meat heaven. The brisket was possibly the best thing ever.

We left with bellies full of beer and beef, plus a doggy bag. Happy Birthday to us!

11 responses to “Romantical

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY !! to both of you!!

    that wedge salad looks awesome.

    the beer names are great. we were at Raccoon Lodge over the weekend and they have a new one – it’s called 12 Step ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Happy Birthday! I missed the boat because I read blogs even less frequently than I write on them :p

    My sweetie’s birthday comes 7 days before mine, which I guess is nice because we have like a week-long celebration, but it also kind of sucks because I bake one cake and then don’t want any more for the rest of the year.

  3. Happy birthday! Where did you guys go? That looks awesome!

  4. Looks like a romantic birthday dinner to me! I so miss Portland and it’s wonderful wonderful beers…

  5. I love salads like that – they seem to taste better then when they are all mixed up and chopped.

    Happy birthday to you both!

  6. Happy belated b’day! Beer dinners are so much fun, great idea for celebrating!

  7. Oh yeah…regular blogging. I remember when I kinda did that. Your beer dinner looks fantastic. Hope you both had great birthdays!

  8. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    I’m slacking off with blogging too, but I blame the internet. I like how you guys never priss things up. I’d take a beer dinner over 8-course $400 meals. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. happy duel bday!! That plate of meat is digusting but delicious at the same time…now that I live in a beer town I have to…try to like beer…any recommendations on something light and tasty? I hate port!

Leave a Reply

