One a Penny, Two a Penny

My Easter memories aren’t all beer and Jesus.

I’ve been a fan of the times when I’ve done things like get an extra Easter basket with Baby Brother
Photobucket
(Easter morning: “THE EASTER BUNNY LIKES US THE MOST! WE GOT EXTRA PRESENTS!”)

But mostly, Easter is Hot Cross Buns

My grandpa Frank was a baker
Photobucket
(He watches over me in my kitchen these days)

He was my maternal grandpa, but my mother never learned to bake with yeast. It makes her nervous. But she loved her dad’s baking, especially his hot cross buns.

We have his recipe, calling for things like 25 cups of flour, with notations on the side to bring it down to proportions where we’re not eating hot cross buns until Canada Day.

Every year, my daddy would spend hours in the kitchen, making hot cross bun after hot cross bun
Photobucket
Anyone who’s baked with yeast knows it’s a long process. And if you want them deliciously fresh, you can’t make them very far ahead of time.  So every year my daddy spends the bulk of Good Friday baking.

It’s a labor of love.

(and when things happen like towels being set on fire-which happen more often than you’d think-you hear a lot of God’s name being yelled. So I think it’s a spiritual experience too)

I’m not home for Easter this year. I’ll be spending it here in Portland, with my husband and in-laws. But I’m sharing my family’s labor of love with my own hot cross buns
Photobucket
Grandpa Frank’s recipe, with whole wheat flour. And part of the batch raisin-free for my husband.

I’m pretty sure Grandpa would approve.
Photobucket
Happy Easter! Enjoy your weekend

7 responses to “One a Penny, Two a Penny

  1. yum! Hope this doesn’t go to spam. Happy Easter Kalin!

  2. I want an Easter basket!!! I miss being a kid sometimes 🙂

    At least I still act like one!

  3. Awesome baking! Your granddad would like these, I’m sure! 🙂

  4. Hope you have a great Easter! I so miss those mornings when I was a kid and we’d wake up to find a big ass Easter basket with all kinds of chocolate and candy (or, rather, breakfast).

  5. Hey, I found your blog randomly from another one! I’m excited to read another Portland blog, especially since you are a teacher, too! 🙂

  6. Hot cross buns have never been part of my family’s traditions. In fact, I don’t know that I’ve ever had one. I feel like I’m missing out…

  7. I loved this post. Food is funny in how it can remind us of people and places and I bet you did your grandpa proud. Are the cross buns very sweet, or more like a muffin type food?

Leave a Reply

