The Best Lentils Ever

I like lentils.
Photobucket
Actually,everyone in the Eating Machine household does.

Even the cats. Which I think isn’t normal.

Normally, I just cook them up with curry powder, or cumin and garlic, maybe some diced tomatoes if I’m feelin’ sassy.

But this weekend I made some that weren’t Indian-tastic. And they blew my mind.

They were so good I made them again for breakfast yesterday.

Totally normal right?

Best Lentils Ever:
Photobucket

  • 1 medium red potato
  • 1/3 c lentils
  • ~1/4 c died onion
  • 1 T minced garlic (or 1 clove garlic, minced)
  • 2 T sour cream (I use light)
  • 1 t butter
  • 2 c chopped spinach
  • salt and pepper to taste

You just dice up a red potato
Photobucket
(or if you’re me and bought organic red potatoes that were small because apparently things don’t thrive without chemicals, 2-3 itty bitty pathetic organic potatoes)

Add the potatoes, onion and garlic to a pan with your lentils. Add water, and let simmer.

I have two types of lentils mixed together in my lentil jar. Poor choice-one takes WAY longer to cook. Life lessons. You just let it all cook, covered, on medium until the lentils are soft and delicious, adding water if needed-there should be enough liquid in your pan that the lentils are thoroughly covered.

When they’re mostly done you add in sour cream and butter

Stir it all up, watch it get creamy, and let it get to where the liquid is more of a sauce around your lentils than a soup.
Photobucket
Then add in a ton of spinach
Photobucket
And fold until the spinach wilts

Then eat the most giant bowl of lentils for breakfast
Photobucket
So flipping good.

And if you’re me and get rather anemic every month, it’s got about a third of your daily value of iron! Win.

Are you a lentil eater? I’m a bit lentil obsessed right now if you have recipes you wanna share!

10 responses to “The Best Lentils Ever

  1. This looks totally delicious and totally easy. And, given that I am vegetarian and also anemic (by genetics, ugh), the iron is a bonus! Thanks for this recipe!

  2. I love lentils but I rarely make them. I do love that your recipe isn’t Indian-inspired. And that your cats eat them too.

  3. I make red lentil lettuce warps — http://www.foodbabyblog.com/2010/06/special-day.html
    They’re tangy and slightly Asian-y.

  4. Thanks friend, you know I need this!!!!

  5. My friend gave me some red lentils from her grandparents farm, and this looks like a great way to try them out. I have bookmarked this recipe to make after my vegan week.

    I make a curried lentil soup that I really like. I always use canned lentils though:

    http://everydayfoodiecanada.blogspot.com/2009/10/vegetarian-meal-9-of-10-and-grossness.html

  6. Lentils are okay. I can live without them. I’d love to try this dish though. I want to like and use lentils more, because they are nutritious, yet super cheap. I do like red lentil dal, but why are the red ones more expensive than the regular ones?

  7. You are the best at lentil recipes shit! This will def get my GI system back to normal

  8. I love lentils and this looks so yummy!

  9. Pingback: Home Cooked « My Marble Rye

  10. We tried using some beet tops instead of the spinach (which we didn’t have) and it was awesome. THANKS for posting a great recipe!

    –>S.

Leave a Reply

