Pulled Pork

It’s been a while since I’ve put up a recipe!

I am not much of a pork eater.

I’m not much of an eater of any meat that requires me to use a knife to cut it.  I have meat issues.

But slow cooked super tender pork?  I have learned that is delicious.  And Lisa blogged about eating some last week the night I was making this.  So I figured it should share!

We got a recipe for pork rub from my husband’s boss.  I then proceeded to make it very different, because that’s what I do.  But the one thing I did keep is the little bit of cinnamon.  It gives the meat a fun little sweetness, but it’s not overwhelming.

For the rub you just mix:
Photobucket

  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t smoked paprika
  • 1 1/2 t  cumin
  • 1 t chili powder or red pepper

Ideally you wanna put this on the meat the night before, so that it soaks up the flavors and and gets delicious.  This is enough for 1-2 lbs of meat.  To cook it you have two options; crockpot or oven. I usually do the oven, but either way works. If you’re doing it in the slow cooker it wouldn’t hurt to double the spices.

If you do the oven you wrap the pork in foil and cook at at 300 for abou 3 hours.  If you do it this way, put a pan under the meat in case your foil wrapping skills are less than stellar (like mine!)

In the crockpot simply put it on low, add enough liquid to cover (I used beer, if you’d rather you can use stock), and leave it for at least 6 hours.
Photobucket
Either way when the meat can get pulled apart with a fork (no knives friends, no knives) it’s good to go.

We like to mix it with BBQ sauce.  BBQ sauce is one of the things where I’m lazy and buy it.  It’s cheap (especially in the summer-I think I paid 50 cents a bottle for this?), yummy, and sometimes you gotta be lazy.
Photobucket
It also has HFCS.  Details.

We eat it on buns
Photobucket
Or make nachos.  Either way, it’s delicious.

This sauce has a nice smokiness, and the smoked paprkia adds in more smokiness.  So you ge the wonderful smokiness of BBQ without buying your husband the $800 smokers they have on roadshow at Costco.

What’s your favorite way to eat pork?

5 responses to “Pulled Pork

  1. Oh that looks so simple! I will definitely be trying this one!

    We struggle at making pork chops–they are always too dry. But I like the idea of trying pork in a crockpot. That might be the winner!

  2. Hmm I never really eat pork but this looks awesome, especially covered in BBQ sauce!

  3. I love shredded pork. I made it in a crockpot when I’m feeling lazy but I have meat issues too. I always make Andy cut the meat.

  4. We LOVE Sweet Baby Ray’s. The one item where I choose to ignore the HFCS

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

