Fudge Fudge Tell the Judge

Mama’s got a brand new ba-by!

(Am I the only one who knows that jump rope rhyme?  When I was little my mom would sing it to me when we made fudge)

Growing up we’d always make fudge around Christmas.  Because Jesus loved sugar.

When I suggested making fudge to the husband he was kinda indifferent…. Until I suggested peanut butter fudge.
Photobucket
He loves his PB and Chocolate.  If I let him the man would live on Reeses.

The only problem was that google gave me to recipes for peanut butter and chocolate fudge.  Recipes for peanut butter fudge, yes.  Recipes for normal fudge, sure.  But none together.

So I found two separate recipes and they made a delicious delicious baby.

I based my recipe on this peanut butter fudge recipe and this fudge recipe

You need:

For the chocolate fudge:

  • 2/3 c evaporated milk
  • 1 1/2 c white sugar
  • a 7 oz jar of marshmallow cream
  • 1/4 c butter
  • dash of salt
  • 3 c chocolate chips (that seems to be a bag and a half)

For the PB Fudge:

  • 1/2 c butter
  • 2 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1 c peanut butter
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 3 c powdered sugar

To make this, you wanna first fully prep.  Measure out all the ingredients and have them ready to go.  Butter a 9×13 pan before you start.  Get out your mixer (you need it!) and put your powdered sugar in the mixing bowl.
Photobucket
because really, if your tummy is expecting fudge, you don’t wanna feed it burned condensed milk instead.

My timing was a tinnnny bit off, so these instructions were what I should’ve done:

In a larger pot melt together 1/2 c butter, marshmallow cream, sugar, and evaporated milk at medium heat.  (this will be the chocolate) Keep stirring this as you start on the next steps

When they’re fully melted and start to mix, start a smaller pot with 1/4 c of butter.  When the butter is melted add the brown sugar and normal milk.  Keep stirring both pots until they reach boiling.

(this is where it gets tricky-I started both pots at the same time, which meant my peanut butter was done a bit before the chocolate.  You don’t want that.  If the peanut butter pot is getting near boiling and the chocolate isn’t, turn it way down or take it off the stove for a minute)

Once it reaches a full boil set a timer and boil the mixture for the chocolate 5 minutes.  When the peanut butter mixture reaches a full boil, set a timer for 2 minutes.
Photobucket
Timer done for the chocolate pot = dump your chocolate in and stir.  This will amaze your husband who is skeptical all the chocolate will melt.  Whisks can be helpful here to keep out lumps.

Timer done for PB = add 1 c PB, and stir.  Then dump it all into the mixer bowl of powdered sugar and beat until it’s all well combined.
Photobucket

Pour the chocolate, then the PB into your pan.  (Do this quickly-they start to set!) Mix a little so it looks pretty (I used a spatula to just kinda lift and fold over).  Put it in the fridge to let it set.  Give your husband the spatula to lick.  Let him say he loves you more now.
Photobucket
Then marvel at how you can make fudge on Sunday and be down to this much
Photobucket
By Wednesday morning.  Whoops.

Worth it.

Totally worth it.

9 responses to “Fudge Fudge Tell the Judge

  1. I could not control myself with that in the house

  2. I would eat the entire thing on Sunday. I love anything and everything peanut butter and chocolaty.

  3. starred. making today. YUM. thank you !!

  4. mommmy made fudge the other day. but just normal. not cool peanut butter and chocolate fudge!

  5. Can I just move in with you guys? Seriously?

  6. I think you need a fudge giveaway

  7. That looks delicious! I love peanut butter and chocolate fudge….have you ever tried the peanut butter chocolate cheesecake at Papa Haydn’s? Oh.My.God.

Leave a Reply

