Bear Season

I took literally everything out of my freezer recently.
Photobucket
Why?

I’ve said it before-I’m finding that I’m part bear.

Because of this I have an intense need to prepare for the winter.

(I know it feels like winter outside… but technically it hasn’t started, so I’m not behind.)

I had to clean up the freezer to better hold my winter supplies.

Because winter makes me do things.  Things like buying six pounds of cheese
Photobucket
And shredding it.  And freezing it in nice little 8 oz baggies.

(Thankfully, I can successfully use a food processor.  Unlike an immersion blender I am capable of using a food processor without making myself bleed.)

And acquiring things like sixteen pounds of beef bones!
Photobucket
(One of my older brothers told me over thanksgiving “Kalin I have some beef bones if you want”.  That’s a normal conversation you have with your siblings right?)

Carting those home made me feel a bit like Dexter.

I roasted them
Photobucket
And made into stock.
My freezer isn’t just cheese and bones though.  Photobucket
I also paraboiled sweet potato cubes and froze them.  And made mashed sweet potatoes and froze those too.
Photobucket

And I horde vegetable scraps like it’s my job
Photobucket
My husband will try to toss those and get yelled at “I’m saving those for stock!”

Not weird at all.

There might also be a 20 pound turkey in my freezer. But we’re all going to play a game called “not judging” and act like that’s normal.

I do use what I put in the freezer though, so we don’t need to call Horders quite yet.

The other day I grabbed out some chicken, breadcrumbs (I put the ends of loaves of bread through the magic bullet then throw them in a ziplock in the freezer.  Is that weird?  I honestly don’t know.) and a bag of sweet potatoes.  I stuck them in the fridge to thaw before I left for work.

Post work I mixed up spices
Photobucket
Added breadcrumbs, and coated the chicken.  Into the oven with the sweet potatoes
Photobucket
And dinner is ready in like 20 minutes.
Photobucket
It’s a beautiful thing.

Is anyone else a freezer horder?  I swear, outside of eggs, milk, and spinach we could go for months without grocery shopping.  That sucker is PACKED

12 responses to “Bear Season

  1. How big is your freezer?! There’s no room in mine. Don’t dead bodies take up some space?

  2. Wow! I am super envious of your domestic skills.

  3. I hoard a lot in my freezer. I tend to store a lot of yogurt in there as if they are going to sell out and I need a years supply ha.

  4. i will never judge you 🙂

    if i had a chest freezer, i would do the same exact thing as you. but for now im relegated to a lame freezer that barely holds a tray of ice.

  5. this is awesomely awesome… and another funny thing? I totally emptied my freezer the other day too!! to reorganize, assess what needed to be used immediately.

    I’m finding it very funny we have these similarities… (I tried to comment the day you had your hand blender mishap – the same day I cut my thumb!!)

    your freezer prep is extremely impressive. 🙂

  6. You make me feel normal for doing wacky things like pureeing a ton of fruit and putting it in the freezer. I still have no idea what to do with it. I love freezing everything. Bread, meat, veggies…you name it. Never froze cheese before though!

  7. i’m calling hoarders!!! omg…how is your pantry if your freezer looks like that? bahahhahahahaa. my is horrendous!

  8. I don’t find this weird at all. I find it pretty damn awesome. I wish more people would make stuff from scratch instead of getting processed crap. And while I’m not truly a freezer hoarder, I am very particular about having things stocked just so in the pantry. Some in my family may have called me the H word. But they can suck it. Right?

  9. I have no idea what’s in my freezer. I do hoard frozen peas (for eating and for the perfect ice packs) and know there is a bunch of mystery food.

    Great ideas on the quick dinner- mine is usually cereal.

  10. Pingback: Holidaze | I'm an Eating Machine!

  11. You are so organized! I know my freezer is full, but I have no idea what is in it.

  12. Pingback: Healthy Holiday Living | I'm an Eating Machine!

Leave a Reply

