Molasses Cookies

Do you ever fixate on a random ingredient?

I got it in my head this week that I needed molasses
Photobucket
Not wanted.  NEEDED.

Something about molasses just seems so Little House in the Big Woods to me.

(That’s right, In the Big Woods-there’s no molasses on the prairie  friends)

(Last year there was a job teaching at a one room school house in Eastern Oregon, several hours from much of anything.  I kept telling the husband-who was at the time my boyfriend-that we could go “be little house n the prairie!” He said no.  Dream killer.  I should try for being Little House in the Big Woods instead.)

I bought a bottle, and then realized I had to make something with it.

The Williams Sonoma Baking cookbook is a favorite of mine.
Photobucket
It gave me the best biscuit recipe I’ve made.  And I found a recipe for ginger cookies that used oil-not butter.

No butter = no mixer needed.  Score.  Wooden Spoon = even more Little House.

I changed it a bit, because I can’t leave well enough alone.  Also because I lacked crystalized ginger.  I’m pretty sure Laura wouldn’t mind.

Flour (white and WW pastry), spices
Photobucket
Mix mix mix
If you measure oil then the molasses, it doesn’t stick as much.  Life lessons.  Photobucket
Then you mix up the oil, molasses, sugar and egg into something that looks a lot like tar
Photobucket
Tar meets the dry ingredients
Photobucket
And they become friends
Photobucket
The batter was a little weird looking to me when I put it on a cookie sheet
Photobucket
But they came out all lovely and pretty
Photobucket
Personally, I like these best warm out of the microwave in front of my electric fireplace
Photobucket
You know, just like Laura would’ve done.

Little House Molasses Cookies

Adapted from Williams Sonoma Essentials of Baking

  • 1 c each white and whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 2 t pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 t ground ginger
  • 3/4 c oil
  • 1/2 c molasses
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1 egg

Heat oven to 350.  Mix together the flours, spices, soda, and salt.  In a second bowl, mix the remaining ingredients.  Add the dry to the wet, and stir until thoroughly mixed.  Drop spoonfuls onto baking sheet and bake about 11 minutes.  They’ll be soft, so wait a few minutes to transfer from the baking sheet to the cooling rack.  These are extra yummy warm.

 

Who else had a pioneer obsession when they were little?  Is there anything else I can make (besides a lifetime supply of gingerbread and cookies) with molasses?

12 responses to “Molasses Cookies

  1. Molasses anything is always good. Love this recipe..

  2. I read those books over and over when I was little… and watched them on television, too… but the books were WAY better. seriously tragic when Michael Landon died, UGH.

    these cookies look awesome!! I love the electric fireplace – so authentic to the LHOTP and LHIBW !! 😀

  3. The cookies look so good. When are you coming over to bake them for me? 🙂

  4. I love baking with molasses. It makes everything taste better.

  5. There was a PBS show years ago, I can’t remember the name of it, that was about the pioneer days…It was like a reality show about pioneers. Maybe even the Oregon Trail? It was about a family that had to live like they were pioneers in the old days and they had to actually build their house from scratch. It was so cool!

  6. I bookmarked this recipe … I have a feeling these would be a big hit in my house!

  7. YUMS those look deelish and even better to eat by the fire place lol

  8. I get random “NEEDS” all the time…last week it was Ricotta. I hadn’t eaten anything with ricotta in it in probably a year but OMG I HAD TO STOP AT PUBLIX AND GET A TUB. Stat. lol

  9. ummm you get snow?! do the molasses in a pan of snow thing!

  10. Can we just move out to the country and teach in a one bedroom school? Me, you and Andy can be the teachers. You can do elementary, I’ll do middle school and Andy will teach high school. Josh can be on the the school board until I think of a better “country” job for him.

    I used to play “Little House in the Big Woods” all the time! The Big Woods was my favorite.

    I NEEED bacon. Constantly.

  11. dude…i need to get mollasses…almost everything i wanna bake (cupcakes, cookies) need it!!! I an’t think of any recipes tho…it’s too early

  12. Pingback: I made life! | I'm an Eating Machine!

Leave a Reply

