Easy Peasy

When I student taught kindergarten, one of the things my cooperating teacher would say a lot was “easy peasy”

The kids would then add “lemon squeezy” and laughhh their little heads off.

She’d use the phrase after showing what they’d be doing; “so you draw a picture of the setting in the story, then write a sentence about it.  Easy Peasy”

I realized after a while, she was tricking the kids.  Not everything was easy peasy.  But the biggest thing that stops kids is thinking something will be hard.  We do it as adults too-if it seems hard, or labor intensive, or whatever else, we’re likely to try and skip it.

But if you stop thinking it’s too much, and tell yourself it’s easy peasy, you’ll be surprised how many things are, well… easy peasy lemon squeezy.

I used to rarely rarely make brownies.  They involved too many dishes-melting the butter, putting the chocolate on a double boiler. I’m a messy enough cook already, I didn’t want more to clean up.

But brownies are delicious.

So I set out to make them easy peasy.

Easy Peasy Brownies

  • 1/2 c oil
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • splash of vanilla (i pour it into the lid, i guess it’s about a teaspoon or so?)
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/3 c cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • about 1/2 c chopped up chocolate or mini chocolate chips

Heat the oven to 350

Mix up the oil, sugar, and vanilla
Photobucket

Add eggs and stir
Photobucket

Add in flour
Photobucket

(Whole wheat = healthy.  So you can eat half the pan. Right?)

Cocoa powder
Photobucket

(I buy the Trader Joe’s because it has a pretty canister)

Salt and baking powder. Stir.

Chop up chocolate
Photobucket

or use mini chocolate chips.  The idea is to add little extra bits of delicious in there, rather than full on making chocolate chip brownies.

Mix all together, and pour into a greased square pan.

Bake until a toothpick comes out clean, about 25 minutes.

Easy peasy
Photobucket
The best part?  It takes maybe 5 minutes to mix this up.  And if you set the tray in the freezer when it’s done, their cool enough to eat in just a few minutes.  So in under 45 minutes you have brownies.
This is extra good as the pan has a pesky habit of going from full to this Photobucket
Way too fast

What’s something you avoid doing because it feels like it’ll be to much work?

In my head the dishwasher takes foreveeeer to unload, so I always put off doing it.

9 responses to “Easy Peasy

  1. Wow those look delicious and easy to make. That is what I need-easy things to bake although it may not be that good ha.

    I just found your blog and I love it. I can spend hours reading all your posts.

  2. I’ll be waiting by the mailbox for my brownies. Thank you.

    Oh, I avoid all sorts of things. Like cleaning the bathroom. Although that doesn’t take that long once I actually do it. Oh, and updating my blog because my computer is so damn slow. (I did write a short post on my BlackBerry while I was at work today, though!)

  3. I avoid making brownies, because it is too much work to eat them. But then I do it anyway. Or Amanda makes them for me.

  4. Mmmm, brownies. I made some today too!

  5. Yum! I wish I had smell-o-vision on my laptop 🙂

    I tend to avoid things like washing my car…until someone writes on it or a co-worker tells me about “this great place that will detail it and everything!” Message received 🙂

  6. I love the idea of making things sound easy- I think my boss might be using this as reverse psychology on me!

    I buy that same cocoa powder too- who can resist a cupcake on a container?

  7. I love that Andy commented to your blog. He didn’t even tell me. Adorable?!?!?!

    please make me brownies.

    I’ve avoided making pie crust for years. It looks way too intense for me.

  8. Pingback: Cheap and Easy | I'm an Eating Machine!

  9. Pingback: Baby Bites | I'm an Eating Machine!

Leave a Reply

