Falling

I love fall.

I also love spring, summer, and winter.

You know how little kids get super excited to see tiny buds peek up in the spring?

And then are equally excited to run through the sprinklers for the first time in the summer?

And point out loudly to everyone that the leaves are changing in the fall?

And can’t wait for the first day they see frost on the roofs in the winter?

Yeah, I never grew out of that.

This week we had some fall-ish weather.  I love summer, but it was nice to have days where I could use the oven without making my whole house into an oven.

We used it as a reason to finally bust out the coupon for this
Photobucket

Butoni had sent me a coupon for one of their frozen entrees as part of Foodbuzz’s tastemaker program.

I’d been wanting to make lasagna, but not motivated enough to actually, you know, go beyond the wanting part to the making part.

I added extra cheese on top.  Because you can never have enough, right?
Photobucket

Served up with salad
Photobucket

The verdict?

Tasty!  It had sausage instead of ground beef, which made it extra flavorful.  It was high in fat, but that’s not shocking when it’s meat and cheese, you know?  And it was a nice easy meal.

Which I needed because the fall weather had me craving other things too.

Mostly this

I was quite sure that I had some pumpkin puree hanging out in my freezer.

From cooking down my jack-o-lantern last fall.

(Cooking down the jack-o-lantern because it’s foolish to waste pumpkins can be filled as reason #459 I am becoming my mother.)

I went through everything in the freezer.

And found…
Photobucket

Butternut squash.

Fail.

While I’m pretty sure I could’ve used it and not know the difference, I was set on PUMPKIN.

So I went to the grocery store.

NONE

I cried a little, and went to the co-op.  Where I found organic pumpkin.

I’m sure being the girl buying only a can of pumpkin on the last day of August was not weird at all.

Whatevs.  I got it home and made this
Photobucket

Greek yogurt + pumpkin + honey + pumpkin pie spice, topped with almonds and more honey.

Love.

Made me want fall RIGHT NOW.

Of course, I am not totally done with summer yet.  I mean there is still this
Photobucket

No, that’s not a ball the cat has.

It’s a tomato from the garden!  First one of the year.

On a salad with roasted corn?
Photobucket

So much love.

I guess I can handle a little more summer…

What are you excited for in the fall?

I want SQUASH!

7 responses to “Falling

  1. im excited for fall cuz it means i can go back to my cold drink and sbux!
    and cuz then i can listen to christmas music. which i might have done the other day.. oops.

    ps. you – camp camp camp SO i might blawg blawg blawg. we’ll see what sort of motivation i get. i still gotta remember my idea for the BEST BLOG POST EVER.

  2. i love all seasons, too! and that tomato photo is too cute.

  3. I’m excited for stews, pumpkin oatmeal, and apple-everything. Cinnamon apple muffins just don’t taste the same in 90 degree weather as they do in the 60s.

  4. I love fall too. I love going back to school, buying school supplies, pumpkin, squash, honeycrisp apples, green bean casserole, my birthday, and halloween. (I could totally go on…I’m obsessed!)

    I am determined to cook down my own pumpkin this year!

  5. i’m ready for my grocery stores to SELL OUT OF PUMPKIN again. bah!

  6. I am excited for the crunchy leaves 🙂

    I love that you added extra cheese to the lasagna – thatta girl!

  7. Pingback: Coming to Terms | I'm an Eating Machine!

Leave a Reply

