When life gives you lemons…

…you say, no thanks life, I’m busy baking.

I woke up earlllly today.  And couldn’t get back to sleep.  When I finally gave up and got out of bed, it was 5 am.

RAD.

Naturally, I did what any sensible person would do
Photobucket
I baked.

Cinnamon Rolls = heaven, right?

But they take hourrrrrs.  And so when I get the brilliant idea to make them on the weekends, I then realize that by the time they’re done, it’ll be lunch time.  And I will have eaten all the frosting in my impatience for breakfast.

But today, the fiance is on furlough.  So he’s home.  And there was soccer on at 7 we were going to watch.

Basically, God was all “hey Kalin.  Make your man some cinnamon rolls.  To eat while he watches the world cup.  You will win fiance of the year”

And you can’t ignore God when you get messages like that.

So by the time we were down 2 nil, this was happening
Photobucket
And by halftime, these babies were going in the oven
Photobucket
Ready to eat as we got our first goal
Photobucket
And we drowned our sorrows in some more when the ref called offsides on what should’ve been a goal.

HEAVEN friends, heaven.

I also managed to let the kitten outside when I took out the trash.

And spent a good 10 minutes in an apron and nightgown trying to coax her out from under the car.  Turns out that’s a magical place that should be explored.  It’s more fun than my socks OR tissue paper.  I know this because those are two of her favorite things to play with, and I was crouching next to the car trying to lure her out with them.

Sadly, there are no pictures of that.

(and thank goodness none of my neighbors are early risers!)

But really?  Bad to good ratio of my morning?  Sure, I got far less sleep than I needed… But…

Photobucket

My kitchen has these in them.  Not such a bad morning.

I made these with about a third whole wheat flour.  I’m pretty sure that makes them healthy.  Right?

And since the fiance was on furlough we also got this today
Photobucket

Getting close!

Did you watch the match this morning?

We totally weren’t offsides.

I don’t totally know what offsides means.

But I know we weren’t doing it.

9 responses to “When life gives you lemons…

  1. landon donovan has me all hot and bothered! yes we werent offsides, damn refs!

    you win fiance of the year twice over btw.

  2. MMM cinnamon rolls while watching soccer? YES please. We watched the game, I missed all the good parts while making coffee. I suck!

  3. Ooh, you’re getting married in PDX? Not surreal America?

  4. That is the trick with baking such breakfast treats, no one wants to wait until lunch! I’ll take the cinnamon rolls minus the soccer!

  5. i didn’t know real cinnamon rolls took so long to bake…maybe I cause I’m not fancy enough.

  6. thehungryscholar

    My wedding cake may just be a pile of cinnamon rolls.

  7. Marriage license? Yep, you are turning into an old married woman 🙂

    I have never had homemade cinnamon rolls. Is that sad? I’m sure any trace of whole wheat makes the rolls healthy.

  8. Wow, those look amazing!

  9. Cinnamon buns are my absolute favourite treat – I adore them 🙂 I miss my mom’s, as she can’t make them anymore. I have yet to try, as I don’t think mine will live up to hers!

Leave a Reply

