Summer?

Yesterday was the last day of school.  Which means now I’m unemployed full time, instead of part time!  Yay!

Summer vacation is starting with some dreary skies, because I live in Portland.  Oh Portland.

My first summer here I was a nanny.  The oldest child went to summer school.  It was July before I could stop taking him to the bus stop in a coat.  July.

Portland “summer” means the weather is still more about eating things like this
Photobucket
(lentils and rice.  I  really do love them)

and this
Photobucket
(creamy pesto on cheese ravioli with a giant mound of zucchini underneath)

When really, I’d much rather be having more meals like this
Photobucket
A BBQ chicken sandwich (Foodbuzz sent me a giant package of Nature’s Pride buns as part of their Tastemakers program-the bun you see there is a Nature’s Pride 100% Whole Wheat bun), corn on the cob, and some broccoli.  Eaten OUTSIDE

I love corn on the cob.  We grill it and it’s pretty much the most delicious thing ever.

Sometimes, in the summer, I make it as a snack.

We’ll all just pretend it’s totally normal to have that for a snack, ok?

Other thing I would like more of?
Photobucket
Homemade ice cream.    With local strawberries.  And a cookie, because cookies are good for you.

Homemade vanilla ice cream is the best thing ever.  Ever ever.
The kitten is not a fan of us having to do our drinking inside, as you can see

Photobucket

(She’s saying “no beer!  It’s mid-June!  You should be consumed on the deck!”… or else she’s just sad because her daddy loves beer more than her.  Who knows.)

The good news?  I will get some summer weather.

Why?

Our Honeymoon!

(for those of you who didn’t know, I’m getting married mid-July!  31 days now!)

Where are we going?

Hawaii!

(yes, the cat hates me.  A lot.)

What are your summer plans?

11 responses to “Summer?

  1. While you’re sipping margaritas on the beach I’ll be in school. Fun times. I’ll also be bemoaning my lack of a steady job, and waiting for it to be fall again so I don’t have to hide indoors from 90 degree weather with 75% humidity. June has been acting suspiciously like September around here.

  2. I’m unemployed full-time now too! I got put on the list to sub over the summer but I kind of doubt that it will happen.

    LOL cat batting beer picture. Amazing.

    Andy is going to a teaching convention thing in PA and I am going to Arizona to visit family. Then we’re going to Kauai for our one year anniversary. I’m super excited!

  3. fresh corn is so delicious!

    and the wedding is so close!!! 🙂

  4. I think I may like your blog more because you photoshopped yourself into a Hawaii background!

    Your wedding is so soon! I’m super excited for you if only to live vicariously through you. Nobody says no to the bride, FYI.

    I work in San Francisco. We don’t do summer. I wore a coat to work today, but luckily my city is across the Bay and gets hot!

  5. Hawaii will be amazing! The kitten is too cute, so tiny 🙂

  6. Have to say I’m jealous about Hawaii. I think the most exotic place I’m going is Maine

  7. thehungryscholar

    I am jealous about Hawaii, fo sho. I sometimes want to just get married for the free stuff and a reason to vacation, but some people do it for love…

  8. IT IS COLD HERE TOO!

    THE POOL IS STILL FREEZING, AND I HAVE TO WEAR JACKETS AND JEANS!

    WTF WEATHER.
    IM GOING TO GO DRIVE MY JEEP AROUND FOR A FEW HOURS TO HURRY UP THE GLOBAL WARMING.

  9. Oooooooooooooooh I LOVE Hawaii so much!!!!!! That is so exciting!!!!!!

  10. i can’t for you to eat spam stuff in hawaii!!! WOO HOOOOOO luah time=drunk time. Excited for you!! BTW dude..you must go into details of your pesto pasta creation and lentil creation…they look so good! Cant’ tease us like that!

  11. HA I love that picture with you and your gato….

    I wish I could go away but I have to be a good mommy and stay home with dog =/

Leave a Reply

