Live from room 106

Hey there!

My kid are at specials right now, and so I thought I’d say hello!

I’m glad everyone supports no frosting brownies.

Know who doesn’t?  Betty Crocker

Yeah.  No thanks Betty.

Since I’m at school I am lacking in the pictures… But I do have the hamburger bun recipe!

Whole Wheat Buns

  • 1 C warm milk (i microwave for a little bit till it’s warm to the touch)
  • 2 T butter, melted (I just put mine into the milk to melt it)
  • 1 package yeast
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3+ c whole wheat flour (you can also use a mix of white and wheat)

Mix together milk, butter, yeast, and sugar and let sit for about 10 minutes.  Add in egg, salt, and then flour 1 c at a time.  Knead well.

Let sit covered in an oiled bowl until doubled, about an hour.

Punch down dough, then cut into 6 (for larger burger sized buns) to 8 (for smaller ones-I liked those for pulled pork) equal pieces.  Shape into balls, place on cookie sheet, then flatten with your hand (so that they look like a bun!).   Cover and let rise for about 30 minutes.

Heat oven to 375.

Bake until they look done, about 15 minutes.  Be careful not to overcook-you want soft rolls, not crunchy!

When rolls are done, take out of oven and brush top with butter if desired.  Cover with a towel while they cool-this forces the moisture to stay in, giving you softer buns.

Hope you’re having a great day!  I’ve got 20 minutes till I get my small people from library.

What was your favorite special as a kid?  I loved art.

9 responses to “Live from room 106

  1. hi! just came across your blog – love your bro’s post about mama pea! too funny! you have a great site! keep up the great work 🙂

  2. Gym was my favorite until I hit middle school and awkwardness, at which point I hated everything. 😉

    Thanks for the bun recipe!

  3. I liked music.

    (I subbed for 3rd grade today. Dude no one warned me how much kids love Miley Cyrus.)

    Thanks for the bun recipe. I actually have all of the ingredients so I can make it!

  4. Okay, I am a teacher … and I have no idea what “specials” are. Maybe is is an American thing!!

  5. i liked library the best!
    that’s right… susan = geeker!

  6. I loved library time…I ended up being a library aid in middle school..I thought I was a bad ass cause I “waived” late fees for my crushes. LOSAH! Bun looks delish!

  7. Holy Hamburger! Yum :)…Hmmm…I don’t remember alot of school “Back in those days” – sucked at art, wood shop, economics…mabye the class where we had the whole period to Read …no I’m not a nerd, but I LOVE to read and write ;)…

  8. MMMM. thanks for the recipe! I love all forms of homemade bread. I hope I can accomplish it as nicely as you have done…

    surprisingly (not) my favorite special activity was cooking when i was an itty bitty

Leave a Reply

