Merry Almost Christmas!

I’ll have a real post later… But right now I’m finishing up our Christmas cards (I am related to too many people.  Too many people who also live in Canada, and thus require extra postage.  Goodness)

So I thought I’d share with you our card and letter.

(To the silly picture Josh asked “can we put that on our card?”.   Then I told him if he wanted something else he’d have to find a serious picture of us.  And those tend to no exist.  Silly picture stayed)

The fiance decided we needed a letter.  And of course, left me to try and write it.  So, here you have my very first Christmas letter.  As a poem, because then it took up the whole page…

We trust that this letter finds you in good health and good cheer!
As you may know we’ve been busy this year.
In June to Kalin Josh did propose
And was thrilled to find his question not met with nos

We’re planning a wedding next year in July
We hope we’ll see you, and that’s no lie
(Yes, we need to mail out a save the date
Putting things off?  We both have that trait)

And while we’re excited to be husband and wife
That’s not the only big news in our life
In October we had a big move that made us both smile
As we knew we’d not repeat it for quite a long while

For we were moving in to the house we had bought
We’re getting settled in, and we like it a lot
Portland will now be our home for years and years
We love the trees, the people, not to mention the beers

Josh continues to work for the state
And believe it or not he thinks it’s quite great
To run regressions  and play with numbers he thinks is fun
And he really and truly loves making spreadsheets a ton

His weekends are now full of grown up stuff
Building a fence, cleaning gutters, but when he’s had enough
It’s football on TV, in his indoor shoes
(although his teams, well, they tend to lose)

The art of teaching, Kalin did master
And wishes Josh would fix the economy faster
But with no full time jobs in sight,
Subbing is certainly more than alright

She can see what schools are fun
(And from what schools she’d rather run)
When not working she’ll bake and she’ll cook
(and she’ll admit it, at bad reality tv she’ll look)

We sure hope you like our Christmas letter
(we also hope next year it’ll be a lot better)
So from Kalin and Josh Merry Christmas to you
And of course have a happy New Years too!

Merry (early) Christmas!  Consider this your card, cause I am out of stamps!

Do you send out cards?  Baby Brother and I used to do some together… I’ll have to see if I can find any of them.

11 responses to “Merry Almost Christmas!

  1. OMG I love this. LOL. Best poem ever.

  2. That’s awesome, so much more than the “Happy Holidays” we usually do

  3. OMG cutestcardever.

    And yeah, I feel ya on the “helpful” husbands that put stuff away in the wrong spots. Christ.

  4. I have this weird feeling of deja vu.

  5. Haha well done! I am too lazy to do Christmas cards, but I occasionally do mass Christmas emails. Nothing says I love you like a mass email.

  6. I would love to get the card in the mail! it is too cute =)

    Remember when I said you inspired me to “make” cookies with my niece? Well the weekend finally arrived and we will do some baking mañana =) GRACIAS

  7. ha, i love the card + letter 🙂

  8. You guys are way too frieken cute! I love how your cards have your sense of humor.

    By the way, what’s with the lack of wedding talk? I love other people’s weddings! Are you having fun planning?

  9. I send out cards, but have never done the poem thing. I love it!!

  10. LOL your poem is too funny and TMI in some parts! i love it! I also like the awkward picture…cause i’m akward…so i understand these things…

Leave a Reply

