So not breakfast food…

Last night was definite soup weather!  Rainy rainy day (and a backed up drainpipe from our rain gutters, resulting in a leak!  Yikes!)

I had butternut squash soup

And said “I need some vegetables” and cooked green beans on the side

I realized after sitting down that squash is, you know, a vegetable.

Have I ever told you how I have a masters degree?  Cause I do.  It shows.

(The fiance had chicken noodle soup from a can, and grilled cheese.  He politely tried a bite of mine.  Just one bite)

And I explained to the fiance how Baby Brother didn’t know what latkes were… and found out the fiance had no clue either!

So I made some more.  I’m not one to pass up fried potatoes.

The fiance insisted on ketchup for his.  He wouldn’t buy that applesauce was wonderful on them.  (me: “It’s like how you put applesauce on pork chops” him: “I’ve never heard of that either”)

Today the fiance is working from home.  Which means he’ll be super productive.

He wanted coffee, and we’re out (someone doesn’t understand that when you use the last of something, you should mention it, write it on a shopping list, something…. or else the magical chore faeries, who also do the laundry, pull the weeds, and sweep the floors won’t know to buy it).  His solution was Baker & Spice.

I had this

(Ricotta tartlet with candied cranberries on top.  Oh.  My.  Word.)

he had this

(chocolate croissant)

and this.

(maple twist-basically pastry with frosting)

Guess which one of us finished, and which one needed a box?

I’m going to rub it in later.  When I’m eating the rest of my breakfast cheesecake.

So not breakfast food.

We’re hoping to finish Christmas shopping today!

Are you done yet?

12 responses to “So not breakfast food…

  1. I do not get people who do applesauce and pork. It just doesn’t make sense to me!

  2. Yup I am allll done with my shopping!

    I would love some butternut squash soup right now =)

  3. Ohmigosh that food looks amazing. I love chocolate crossiants!

  4. how do people not know what latkes are? good for you showing them the way!

  5. boy owning a house is a bummer when repairs come up…

    that tarlet looks abso-flippin-lutely delish. im gonna find a recipe for one and try to make it.

  6. I finished this morning. Now I just have to figure out how to smuggle them inside before certain significant others come snooping….

  7. mmm potato latkes are the best! I made some on sunday night with my mom for hannukah! they were SO delish 🙂

  8. step away from baker and spice….NOW!

  9. Post Xmas Baker and Spice coffee date is a MUST!!!

  10. I am basically done Christmas shopping!!

    Applesauce totally goes on porkchops – he doesn’t know what he is talking about!

  11. That ricotta tart looks so pretty!
    And I really need to try latkes…I’ve never had them before! My Jewish experiences are so limited!

  12. I love butternut squash anything. This time of year soups is a really good thing.

Leave a Reply

