Don’t Fear Pumpkin!

I spent all afternoon attacking the bread.  To make sure it was good of course.  Didn’t want to disappoint the fiance.

Besides pumpkin bread I actually managed to eat other food last night.

Pretty roasted veggies

Pot roast

Served with mashed potatoes and gravy

My old roommate told me once that only old people like pot roast.  It’s pretty much the fiance’s favorite meal.  But he kinda is an old man sometimes, so maybe there is truth to that…

We busted out some quality wine

Kirkland Signature.  Heck yes.

And, of course, more pumpkin bread

My skills clearly lie more in eating and baking than in cutting.  You should see when I try and slice French bread.  It’s not pretty.

A few of you told me you’re scared to cook up pumpkin on your own.

I promise, if you can cook a squash, you can make your own pumpkin puree.

My mama grew up poor.  And poor in a family with 7 kids.  So I think I get a lot of my more frugal tendencies from her-shopping sales, coupons, and making things from scratch.  (And also knowing when it’s ok to use a mix!).  The basic mindset with doing out own pumpkin was we already bought the pumpkins for the jack-o-lanterns, so why not get thanksgiving pies out of them too?

All I did was chop up my jack-o-lantern into a couple pieces, and then cook it just like I would any other squash.  When it was soft, I scooped the flesh off the skin with a spoon, and then stuck it in the blender.  I had a little pumpkin and got about 4 cups out of it.  My family got a bit more:

It’s a good thing we like pie.

Per several requests, here is the recipe, but if you use canned pumpkin you might need to add some water-homemade tends to have a slightly higher water content.  Mine had a puddingish texture, if it seems too thick, it probably is.  And you can add chocolate chips too if you’re, you know,  makin’ it for a MAN

Mommy’s Pumpkin Bread

3 eggs
1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
2 cups pumpkin
1 tsp vanilla

Mix altogether.  Add
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
3 cups flour

Beat about 2 minutes

Makes 2 loaf pans or one bundt pan.  Bake at 325 for about 1 hour and 10 minutes (bundt cake usually takes a little longer)
Done when a toothpick comes out clean

It’s pretty much the best stuff ever.

You can tell because I made it yesterday afternoon and both loaves are clearly missing parts

I don’t know how that happened at ALL.

10 responses to “Don’t Fear Pumpkin!

  1. I think it’s awesome you make your own pumpkin puree. I’m besties with Libby, at the moment, and I’m not sure how making my own in a dorm would go

  2. I love pot roast!! It really ranks up there as one of my favorite meals.

  3. thanks for the recipe! I am glad you are putting the Pumpkin Bread to good use lol

  4. I love potroast, and I’m 21. I have a particular nostalgic fondness for it because it was one of the very few things mom couldn’t overcook.

  5. mommy gave me pumpkin bread for breakfast today.

  6. I think you should invite the Pea Family over for dinner and just not tell us what’s in everything 🙂

  7. yum pot roast. Such a MAN meal…hahah I’m making pot roast tonight with mashed potatoes. I’m an old woman and I am very excited about this.

  8. darn you! That pot roast looks so moist and yummy.

  9. Those mashed potatoes and that gravy are making me drool – the perfect combination!

    I am SO jealous that your Costco sells wine!!!

  10. i might have to make pumpkin bread w/ choc chips. YUM

Leave a Reply

