Oh. Em. Gee.

So I had full intents of making us breakfast today.

But the fiance woke up and said “Want me to go get us breakfast from Baker & Spice?”

Do I want delicious baked goods?

Clearly, my answer was “yes!”

Have I mentioned how insanely good this place is?

Yeah?

Well, it still is.

The fiance did well at picking out a variety of goodness

DSCN4633Fruit hand pie, pain au chocolate, and pumpkin bread

Amazing.

The pumpkin bread had amazing chocolate chips (seriously, how often do you rave about chocolate chips?  they were that good) and pumpkin seeds on top

DSCN4631Even my pumpkin hating fiance couldn’t resist-he loved it!

We ate the fruit pie too fast to get another picture.  But it was goooood.

And the pain au chocolate was perfection

DSCN4634The chocolate was a ganache, not just a solid chunk, so it was smooth and amazing.  And who doesn’t love good flaky pastry?

To finish it off, the fiance got me this for dessert (yes, breakfast dessert)

DSCN4632Pumpkin whoopie pie.

I basically alternated between bites and going “oh my god!”

Seriously, one of the best things I’ve ever eaten.  Moist, full of flavor, and the perfect size.

Have I eaten a days worth of calories in baked goods?  Probably.  But it was worth it.

I love you Hillsdale.  I love you Baker & Spice.  I love you pastries.

Do you have a neighborhood bakery?

11 responses to “Oh. Em. Gee.

  1. Amazing chocolate chips? I need to figure out what brand they use. This reminded me of the pumpkin bread I have in my fridge I’ve completely neglected. Shame on me

  2. TONS of neighborhood bakeries around here – they’ve been in existence since I was little… so at least 21 years 😉

  3. Is breakfast dessert called “bed breakfast”?

  4. lucky girl.

    i wish we had a real neighborhood bakery instead of safeway.

  5. That looks ridiculous. Ridiulous in the best way. I walked to my neighbourhood bakery (which is just an Italian bakery in an Italian grocery store and they make more bread than anything else) and picked up cinnamon buns for a brunch this morning, but your treats put mine to shaaaame.

  6. Yeah, we do. I mean I live in the SF Bay Area, but I don’t know what any of them are called- I don’t do well with pastries in my possession so I’ll say Whole Foods for my impulse pastry purchases.

  7. OMG I love those chocolate crossiant things!!!

  8. We have a couple beloved town bakeries–Scholars Inn Bakehouse, Baked!, Sugar ‘n Spice–but none beloved by me. One of the drawbacks of living in a college town is that your standard is cardboard cafeteria fare and Burger King. So when these places crank out goods a smidgen /less/ cardboardy they get the reputation of gourmets.

  9. Holy sh*t. I wet my pants from your post. DELICIOUS.

  10. Wow those all look so good, esp the Pumpkin Whoopie Pie

Leave a Reply

