Welcome Home

So, I realized from your questions I a) hadn’t show pictures of the outside of our house and b) hadn’t given a whole lot of details.

Here’s the outside

DSCN4433

You can see, it’s got a ginormous deck (224 square feet) on front, and it’s not the cutest color.  We plan to fix the color part.  And love the deck.  It’s 1680 square feet, so big but not huge.  3 bedrooms, 1 full back and a 3/4 bath.  And of course, the three living rooms (Thanks for suggestions on that!  I like “den” but I’m not sure if the room is den-like… We shall see)

DSCN4436There’s like plexi-glass stuff on the deck, which I don’t think you can totally see in the pictures.  But that should hopefully prevent drunken accidents.

The yard is kinda dead (it was a foreclosure…) but set up really well.  Lots of nice trees

DSCN4434And see how there’s things like that retaining wall built?  Saving me time, money, and effort.  Heck yes.

The lot is .17 acres, so again, not huge, not tiny, just like the house.

And I’m really excited for this

DSCN4435No, not pulling the weeds.  But those weeds are growing in some raised beds, already built for me to plant my garden in!

Because Mama Pea told me yesterday all the cool kids having tasting plates for lunch, and being cool is pretty high on my to do list, I had one again today

DSCN4431Hummus (I made it with raw garlic this time-gave it a nice kick), carrots, pickles, tomato, and homemade sourdough!

Closer look at the bread

DSCN4432See that beautiful crumb?  And it’s got a nice chewy crust…. I always feel like it’s a little magic when I make sourdough.  Flour, water, and a pinch of salt turn into bread!

Oh, guess what room in my house the stolen internet works best in?

Jesus’s room.  Of course.

I think that means it’s ok to do.

 

12 responses to “Welcome Home

  1. Why would you need THREE living rooms?! I’d love a yard that size. I really want an acre (more would be great) so I’m envious.

  2. OMG! All the cool kids had tasting plates TWO DAYS IN A ROW for lunch! We are so freaking cool I can’t stand it. And I LOVE the house!

  3. OMG I just laughed so hard at “Oh, guess what room in my house the stolen internet works best in?
    Jesus’s room.  Of course.”

    Your house is really nice! Congrats to the both of you…I hope ya’ll create many happy memories =)

  4. but of course the signal has to be in the jesus room. lol.

    your house looks absolutely gorgeous. it must be such a great feeling to know you’re a homeowner. we’re waiting til next year to apply for a mortgage. im hoping that many of the houses i like now will still be on the market, although thats kinda mean to wish that…mean for the sellers…

  5. So cute! I love the garden beds 🙂

  6. I love it! What an exciting time. 🙂

  7. When you go homemade bread, you gotta go chewy crust. Maybe I’ll work u the nerves to work with yeast this weekend(though probs not)

  8. I adore that you have a Jesus room! Congrats on the new place!
    When are you gonna post a sourdough recipe? I want to tackle sourdough next!

  9. That is the best kind of bread ever! I don’t remember the last time I had a nice crusty bread 😦

    Congrats on the new house and happy Friday!!!

  10. Funny post!!! I like the colour of the outside – looks nice in the picture anyway.

  11. I love how “in tune with nature” your house is! BTW your little “taste” plates has inspired my week’s dinners/lunches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

