Thanksgiving

The fact that I’m about to post about last years Thanksgiving, instead of showing you what I’ve been eating, has nothing to do with the fact that I forgot about a substitute training I had which made me run out the door with wet hair 10 minutes before I had to be there.  Or the fact that my day being all crazy + PMS = eating like this all day

DSCN3965

Nope, not at all.  I just like thanksgiving.

So, I’m lazing out on Thanksgiving this year a bit.  Because I forgot until Friday we’re about to go out of town for a few days and we wouldn’t eat through the leftovers…

But I thought I’d show you last year’s meal!  Baby Brother (btw, that is an accetable name to call him-there’s no need for “Eating Machine’s brother” or anything.  He’s just Baby Brother.  Kinda like Brother Bear.) went to PSU last year (that’d be Portland State) and we had family dinners once a week where we made sure he ate something.

Well, he ate.  This made sure he ate something that wasn’t pie and/or Safeway Chinese food.

Family dinners were always proper meals.  And we did thanksgiving all out.

I had a giant turkey

(Barefoot in the kitchen.  Heck yes.  I sewed the apron myself too.  It’s weird how my women’s studies prof in college didn’t like me.)

That was described by my roommate as “bigger than my head”

She wasn’t lying

The fiance did the carving

DSCN1465

We ate in the living room, the table was way too full of food

Note that Baby Brother totally has a glass of milk.

DSCN1467The big pan in the corner is stuffing, cooked out of the turkey with veggie bullion as my roommate was a vegetarian.  Plus, the turkey takes less time to cook that way.  Win-win!  And the rolls are homemade.

I don’t eat the stuffing.  And usually not the mashed potatoes either.  But I insist on rutabagas.  (In fact, I just got back from buying some at the store). They’re my favorite.

What thanksgiving food do you love or hate?

17 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. There is nothing wrong with a Ben & Jerrys day…or week… 🙂

  2. Looks like such a fun holiday – I love Thanksgiving!

  3. We make this squash with apples and nuts that rocks. I also love green bean casserole!

  4. All these canadian thanksgivings is making me a little sad I don’t use my 1/4 canadian side as an excuse 😦 The good thing about waiting for the America Thanksgiving is the Whole Foods stuffing. I could eat that with a spoon.

  5. Ohmigosh that cinnamon bun would sooooo be gone over here!

  6. We all need ice cream in our life =)

    My fave fave fave Thanksgiving dish is Marshmallow Candied Yams =)

  7. totally love that ben and jerrys flavor!! its too dangerous to eat out of the carton haha

    what a lovely looking thanksgiving dinner!

  8. I love almost every Thanksgiving food except turkey. It’s always so boring in comparison to green bean casserole (swoon!) and yams and mushroom gravy and ‘taters and rolls and pumpkin pie and pecan pie and on and on…

  9. Guess what? I’ve never had a traditional thanksgiving before. I always did thanksgiving with my church friends, who are chinese, so naturally we did yucky chinese food.

    I so, so, so want stuffing though.

  10. hate, hate, hate that canned cranberry stuff.

    LOVE:
    my Mammaw’s ham gravy
    turkey/ham
    sweet potato rolls
    mashed potatoes
    stuffing
    veggies

  11. peanutbutterfingers

    wow-eeee looks yummy!!!

    i LOVE cranberry sauce & pumpkin pie, but my favorite is stirring everything together to make a big pile of mush: turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, peas… the works!

  12. yum looks amazing!!!! I LOVE thanksgiving food esp all things pumpkin and fresh stuffing!!! Last year we made pumpkin soup that was served in mini squashes that was so memorable and delish!

  13. Cute apron 🙂

    I love corn casserole, parker house rolls and my aunt’s chocolate bourbon pecan pie! Not a fan of turkey, gravy, squash casserole and green bean casserole…

  14. aw .. i miss vancouver! Happy thanksgiving 🙂

    that ice cream is calling to me
    and its like 8 am here haha

  15. That ice cream look goooooood! And I’m feeling the SAME way so I might be diving into some of that tonight! lol
    Awww Thanksgiving looked great!!
    My fave is stuffing–I could probably just fill my plate with that and be fine!

Leave a Reply

