Squash squash sqaush

The police still haven’t found who hit my brother’s car.  😦

The good thing is that they’ve got three cars, so this was the extra… So monster baby and her mommy aren’t stuck at home.

Onto some happier notes:

My day has a lot of squash!

EDIT:  If you want to make pumpkin butter, the recipe is here

First, I made pumpkin butter

(that’s right, MADE.  I am my own Trader Joes!)

I started with this

DSCN3869

(In my family we don’t do homemade halfway.  My fam grew this pumpkin.  And then after halloween my mommy cuts them up and cooks them, then freezes.  Full on homemade.  And yeah, it’s been in my freezer for a year.  Whoops)

And I ended up with this

DSCN3873

Put on some bread

DSCN3874

Tasty!  I’m looking forward to this in some oats!

And then, because I hadn’t done enough with squash, I made some more kobacha soup!  This time I used this

DSCN3871

instead of milk. Gave it a crazy good texture!  (And hey! my lunch was vegan!)

Defiant upgrade.  Genesis was asking about how it’s made-her you go girl!  (And, anyone else who wants it 🙂 )

We have a crazy amount of corn on the cob, so I chopped some of that into it.

DSCN3877

Happy happy lunch!

So… what’s your favorite way to eat squash?

11 responses to “Squash squash sqaush

  1. thanks! im definitely gonna hunt this sucker down this weekend.

    sorry bout your brothers car. somathing happened to my cousin. he’s just getting his car back from the shop today.

  2. I love spaghetti squash with spices, or tomato sauce and shredded cheese melted on top!

  3. Dude, I can’t believe that happened to your brother’s car! Insane!

    I applaud the homemade-ness of that pumpkin butter. 🙂

  4. Homemade pumpkin butter is too cool. it almost makes me feel like I’m eating a vegetable when I have TJ pumpkin butter

  5. I can’t believe you made your own pumpkin butter, that’s awesome! I’ve never tried pumpkin butter, I should get my hands on some! Maybe I’ll make some apple butter soon.

  6. I can’t believe that someone hit your brother’s car and left… that’s so insane. I don’t understand how people don’t feel responsible for their actions. Sure, they might not have the $$ to fix it, but why should your brother be liable for THEIR mistake!? UGGG!

  7. Homemade pumpkin butter?? Ahh I have got to try that! I wonder if it’d work with other types of squash?? Mmm!

  8. mmmm…pumpkin butter. That is truly from scratch! What did you put in it besides the pumpkin?

  9. that’s awesome that you had that pumpkin to make your own butter!

    i need to find some kabocha already. I have not seen it anywhere here!

  10. That’s so cool that you made your own pumpkin butter!!!

  11. Do you have a recipe for your pumpkin butter?

Leave a Reply

