The perfect pumpkin

Found it!

DSCN3715

We hit up Sauvie Island today-it’s not too terribly far from Portland, and has a bunch of farms/pumpkin patches.

We did the big pumpkin patch first.  I got excited at the squash for sale

DSCN3718

That’s not nearly all of it.  So many types! And 45 cents a pound!

We found absurdly large cabbage

DSCN3711BIGGER than my head.  The sign said they were for making sauerkraut.  I’m pretty sure that’d make a lifetime supply.

The fiance climbed the haystack

DSCN3717Ran into some people I babysit for and got to hold a very cuddly baby.  Cuddly babies are the best.

And we shared corn on the cob and sausage

DSCN3712

(the ketchup only side?  Clearly, the fiance’s half)

Then we drove around and saw pretty nature.  And trailer parks.

We hit up a second farm where they had tons you could pick yourself

DSCN3728

How pretty is it?

DSCN3727

Also, far less children on sugar highs here.  Win.

Hot peppers were high on the fiance’s list of wants

DSCN3722

And I was excited to pick my own corn!

DSCN3734

We were tempted with all the pumpkins, but I think they might rot if we buy one now, right?

DSCN3732

So we settled for just one little one.  And we got a caramel apple covered in heath

DSCN3738

They dip them fresh, so the caramel made the chocolate all melty and amazing.

And we’ve got this stash of fantasticness at home now!

DSCN3741

Do you go to pumpkin patches?  I love ’em.  I think maybe I’m too old for them now but seriously-caramel apples and cheap squash.  Who can say no?

10 responses to “The perfect pumpkin

  1. I haven’t been to a pumpkin farm since I was a kid, but now I REALLY want to go to one! Cheap squash and caramel apples are a few reasons why. I spy kabocha squash! Oh, and the corn looks delicious too, as does the humongous cabbage! Yeah, I just want to go for everything 😀

  2. Peanut Butter Bliss

    holy smokes that is one HUGE cabbage!!

    what an adorable pumpkin picture 🙂

  3. I don’t even know where I would find a pumpkin patch around here

  4. How fun! I totally want to go!

  5. Looks like such a fun day! Unfortunately, there are no pumpkin patches where I live in South Florida… instead, they truck in tons of pumpkins and line them up under a tent in parking lots for our own little “pumpkin experience!” 🙂

  6. You’re never too old for a pumpkin patch! That looks like a perfect day.

  7. Wow is that cabbage massive! I have never been to a pumpkin patch, but I totally want to make a point of going. I absolutely LOVE pumpkins and fall in general.

    I have never had such a fancy looking candy apple – yummmmmmmmy!!

  8. the closest thing to a pumpkin patch ive gone to are the ones in the parking lots. lol. ive always wanted to go to a pumpkin farm tho! they look so fun!

  9. looks so fun!! i love pumpkin picking!!! I want to get a few this year and carve out the real pumpkin to eat!! I never had a taste for it until a couple years ago and its sooo good! oh and the roasted seeds!!

  10. Wow that sounds like a perfect day with yummy eats.

    I am dying to go apple picking or to a pumpkin patch this year

Leave a Reply

