Soup Weather

Last night was soup weather-cold and rainy.

We had homemade soup using homemade stock (I don’t half-ass the homemade yo).  The extra fun part about using stock?  So, you know how Jello isn’t vegetarian because it’s made out of animals bones?  (I had a roommate who didn’t know that and FREAKED out when I told her, so sorry if this is news to you)  Stock is made out of bones, which means it’s gelatinous when cold.  So if you put some of the ingredints in the crockpot ahead of time, when you take it out of the fridge you have this

DSCN3612

Nasty huh?

But the finished product is fantastic!

DSCN3614

The soup had chicken, celery, carrots, lentils, wheatberries, ‘banzos, peas, broccoli and corn

Plus some Killer Bread on the side.

DSCN3616

Reeses are free with coupons right now at Walgreens.  Which is dangerous.  We don’t like frozen chocolate, so I tend to store candy in the freezer, to keep us from eating it too quicky.  But when I went to put them in the freezer last night I had the BEST idea ever.

Reeses ice cream sammies!

DSCN3617

Mini ice cream sammie + one reeses = happy happy happy.

DSCN3618

And seriously, there’s like 200 calories.  You find me something this good and peanut buttery for that, I dare you.

Woke up to a COLD day-I totally wore my jammies to drive the fiance to his vanpool because the thought of changing pants just sounded too cold.

So what was I craving for breakfast?

Of course.  Salad.  Makes perfect sense, right?

DSCN3620Spinach, carrots, tomatoes, parm, hummus, sour cream, killer bread croutons, and sauteed shrooms.  I made the croutons and mushrooms so that there was at least something warm in the bowl…

I’m glad everyone loves my toddler friend as much as I do!  She and monster baby will be my flower girls next summer.   I’m a little worried they might be cuter than me!

One of my favorite things yesterday is that she totally mixes up “me” and “you”…. So if you ask her who’s in a picture she’ll point and say “Mama, Daddy, you!”.   It’s highly entertaining.  After we made the muffins I told her what a good helper she was and she said “Daddy taught you”.  Which I’m guessing meant “Daddy taught me”, but maybe she just thinks her daddy invented baking, who knows.

Her daddy does make fantastic things-I love having breakfast over there-French toast, waffles, all sorts of great stuff.  And our toddler friend totally puts peanut butter on whatever is for breakfast.  Between that and her love of yogurt I think she’s got a future as a food blogger!

5 responses to “Soup Weather

  1. LOVE that ice cream sandwich creation!

  2. Ew, I kind of knew jello was made of pig, but I didn’t know it was the bones. Well, I’m glad I don’t eat that stuff anyway, but the fact that I have distresses me. I need happy thoughts, like that ice cream sandwich

  3. Oh my I need to try that icecream sandwich!

    That soups looks so yumy and totally perfect for this cold weather

  4. I whole-heartedly second VG’s comment!
    I rolled out of bed at 6 this morning to go to the gym and froze my ass of changing into my workout clothes. I DO NOT like these cold mornings!

  5. I would have never thought to add a Reese to an ice cream sandwich — pure brilliance! Love it.

Leave a Reply

