…hummus, and tabouli, and baba ganoush

I had this song stuck in my head when I was at the grocery store today.  I gave into the lyrics and got an eggplant to make baba ganoush.  It didn’t make the song leave my head, but it was yummy!

For the baba I microwaved the eggplant (lazy, yes, but effective as well), and then scooped out the inside.

DSCN3214

I blended it with tahini, garlic, and parsley.  It was tasty!

I also made falafel.  They seemed to go together.  I had soaked chickpeas (most recipes asked for soaked, but not cooked) because we need to make more hummus, so I was good to go.  All the directions I saw told you to use a food processor.  I have a blender.  It took a while.  I started with this

DSCN3210

And watched it become this

DSCN3211

And finally this!

DSCN3213

Then I shaped them into balls and sprayed ’em with pam.  Baked for about 20 minutes!

They turned out pretty good

DSCN3216

My lunch was the falafel and baba plus lettuce, carrots, and a tahini-yogurt sauce.  Loved it!

DSCN3215

Only sad things is that I didn’t make extra…

But, to make up for it, I used my coupon ninja skills to get cheap chocolate!  15 cents per bar baby…

DSCN3217

Now to hide it.  I’ve learned a valuable lesson that if I bury candy in the freezer I forgot it’s there until I really need something sweet, and the fiance doesn’t steal it!

Do you ever hide food so you don’t have to share?

7 responses to “…hummus, and tabouli, and baba ganoush

  1. i hide food only so i forget its there. if i dont want tos hare, ill buy something he doesnt like 🙂

  2. I hide food all the time — but usually from myself! HA! If I had a stash of dates staring me in the face everytime I opened the cupboard, it would be a very, very dangerous thing.

  3. lol! hide food? No, not me…I usually share everything.

    65 cents Ghirardelli! Wow! What a great buy!

  4. you know, I need to try making hummus in my blender now that our food processor is broken.

    yes, I hide food 🙂

  5. Felafel, hummus and baba ganoush are some of my favourite foods 😀 I live alone, but yes… I have been known to hide food. There is nothing more annoying to looking forward to eating something and coming home to find it gone! Hehe…

  6. i LOVE baked felafel, my mom thinks it is impossible, i need to show her sometime hehe

  7. I’ve never had Baba Ganoush–not even sure I know exactly what it is. lol
    The freezer is my #1 hiding spot!!!

Leave a Reply

