Stuffed Peppers

You won’t believe what happened yesterday.  The fiance tried something NEW!

Ok, you might not be as excited as I am, but seriously, this doesn’t happen much.

We were eying all the gorgeous peppers at the farmers market yesterday, and he said he wanted some, but wasn’t sure what we would do with them.  When I suggested stuffed peppers he eyed me suspiciously, and asked what I would put into them.  After promising nothing scary would be put in, he decided it was ok.

DSCN2811

We mixed up brown rice, basil, garlic, spicy sausage, tomato sauce, and chopped up cherry tomatoes.  We were using anaheims because bell peppers will kill you dead.  I stuffed some zucchini for myself, and added chopped zucchini into my mix.

DSCN2812I covered them with foil and baked them.  While they cooked I called my cousin to get her to tell the fiance if he’s too sick to go to work for 4 days (he’s still in bed right now) he should go to the doctor.  Which, you know, I’d told him too.  But she’s a nurse, so she at least has some clout.  Watch him change his mind when he gets up.  Silly boy.  By the time I was off the phone with her they peppers and zucchini were looking near done, so I took them out and grated some parm on top, then baked until they were finished.

DSCN2818They were sooo good!  The sausage flavor cooked into all the rice and made it super tasty.  I still have most of one of my zucchini halfs leftover, and the fiance has a pepper.  I’m going to have to make these again.

We had salad with dinner

DSCN2814

I woke up today with a headache.  😦 I took an advil and then made this

DSCN2822Half a leftover waffle with berries and whipped cream.  And cinnamon!

I did the math on the waffles.  The recipe said to put in half a cup of oil-I did 1/4 cup of oil, and 1/4 cup of yogurt.  I added it all up today.  Yeah, next time I think I’ll replace all the oil with yogurt.  I’m not someone who is against cooking with some fat, but seriously, there shouldn’t be almost 10 grams of fat in my waffle. And if’ I’d made the recipe as written it would’ve been 16 grams of fat in ONE waffle.  Thanks Betty, thanks. (if anyone knows a good waffle recipe that won’t give you a heart attack, or can tell me if they’ll work if I leave out the oil you’ll totally be my bestie!)

Anyhow… I also had half of a nectarine from the farmers market

DSCN2824Breakfast (or maybe the advil 🙂 ) killed the headache!  I was saving the other half of the nectarine for the fiance, but if doesn’t get up soon I might not be able to hold out much longer!  Soooo good.

Happy Monday!

3 responses to “Stuffed Peppers

  1. Stuffed peppers are awesome. How had he avoided them for so long?
    My pancake recipe is 1 cup wheat flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, a pinch of salt, 1 cup milk, 1 egg, and 2 tablespoons vegetable oil. Should work for waffles I would think, and would probably make around 4

  2. Haha, way to get the fiance to eat some new foods! Those look delish. 🙂

  3. Wow, those peppers looks so delicious!

Leave a Reply

