Sick Days…

I picked up my fiance last night, and instead of the smiles I normally get, there was a sluggish, not so happy man.  He’d said he wasn’t feeling good when he left for work, but we’re both allergic to everything, so I figured it was just that.  Nope 😦

We had a yummy dinner-I have yet to see the boy so sick he doesn’t want to eat

DSCN2639

Pan fried chicken,

DSCN2643

salad with zucchini and olives, and cauliflower for me.  The boy got  couscous instead of salad.

The pan fried chicken is amazingly good, and super easy to make.  It’s probably not the healthiest thing, but some days, that’s ok.

DSCN2636

You mix up flour with whatever spices sound good.  I used seasoning salt, black pepper, garlic, and paprika.  I’ve found that you can’t use too much seasoning on this stuff.   Dip the chicken in milk, then into the flour/spice mix.  You fry it, leaving it alone until it’s cooked on the first side before you flip.  If you flip it early the breading comes off sometimes.  And that’s sad.  Do the same to the other side and you’re done!

DSCN2638

I had to indulge the sick boy, so I ran out and got him treats.

DSCN2646

His favorite ice cream + whipped cream

DSCN2648

And chocolate milk.

He bought chocolate milk at New Seasons last time we went, and has mentioned a few times since how good it was.  And given that when he’s sick he reverts to being a little boy, I figured chocolate milk was a good choice.

And then he was tucked into bed before 9.

He was still miserable this morning, so I ran out and got a thermometer and some food for him.

This is my living room right now:

DSCN2649

Gatorade, more chocolate milk, a massive amount of fruit (when I asked him what he wanted for breakfast before I left he slurred “fruit an vegbles”), doughnuts, yogurt with blackberries and granola, and a thermometer.

Before I took his temperature I asked him what it was “One oh twenty”.  1020.  He’s the sun.

It was actually 102.2 .  So he’s not going to work.  But his work has a big quarterly report they put out, and it’s out tomorrow.  So he’s still gotta do some work.  Poor boy…

I’m trying to figure out what else to feed him.  If he’s going to get his work done he’s going to need food.  What do you like to eat when you’re sick?

4 responses to “Sick Days…

  1. Oh man, 102.2 is serious business! I hope the chocolate milk helps!

  2. Sorry to hear about that. When I’m sick, I know I want savory and bland flavors– things like tomato soup and slightly burnt toast. Also, if his throat’s sore at all, ice cream or frozen yogurt will help with that

  3. Wow, can’t believe his major appetite! When I’m sick I want like nothing. When my appetite comes back I know I’m getting better, and crave all sorts of carby, plain goodness. Cereal, pasta, crackers, toast, plain pizza.

Leave a Reply

