Pizza on the Grill

DSCN2512

Here in Portland, almost no one has AC.  Which is great when it’s rainy and cold for 10 months out of the year.   But in the summer it gets warm (and sometimes HOTTTT), and so we end up grilling as many dinners as possible because otherwise the whole house feels like an oven.  The first time we made grilled pizza the fiance totally did not believe me that it would work, and I just didn’t want the house to be 95 inside.  It totally works, and it’s fantastic!

I make the dough from scratch (very surprising, right?).  I used to get the premade stuff from Trader Joe’s, but then I noticed they changed the label from “almost whole wheat dough” to “wheat dough” and now the first ingredient is enriched flour.  No thanks.  (It’s totally tasty though, and if you don’t want to make dough any of those premade ones are great)

The dough is pretty low key:  1 packet of yeast, 1 T sugar, 1.5 c warm water left to sit until foamy

DSCN2487Flour, 1 t of salt, 1 T of oil added in.  (Whole wheat, or anything else, about 3.5 c) and kneaded

DSCN2489You let it rise for about an hour, and then you either cut it up and make balls (this makes two big pizzas or 4 small ones) and let those rise for 30-45 minutes, or stick it in the fridge (which I did) till it’s near dinner time.  I’ve left this stuff in the fridge for 3 days and it was fine, although I don’t think I would go much longer than that.  If you put it in the fridge you take it out about 45 minutes before you want to eat, and cut it up into how many pizzas you want.  I decided to make our two smaller pizzas (They’re each about the size of a dinner plate) and then use the rest to see if I could make pitas.  I’ll show you how that turned out in a minute.

After you let the dough sit at room temperature for at least half an hour you roll it out pretty thin and put it onto a grill that is on medium heat.  A pizza peel is really useful in all this…

DSCN2500And then you close the grill, opening to rotate the pizza 90 degrees ever 30-60 seconds.  I use the grill tongs to move it around.  My grill doesn’t provide the most even heat, so this is really important or I’ll have a half black, half raw pizza.  Ick!  When it’s done you have this

DSCN2502(see how there’s clearly one spot on my grill trying to burn my food?).  You flip it so that the cooked side is up, and the uncooked is down, and cover it with whatever deliciousness you want

DSCN2505Basil, olives, mozzarella, hot sausage, parm, turkey pepperoni, tomato sauce.  I use pasta sauce on my pizza, because I have it on hand, or I mix up water, oil, seasonings into some tomato paste.

DSCN2508It’s, again, really useful to have a peel for this.  You put it (carefully) onto the grill, close it, and do the rotating thing again.  You’re not going to get a browned top, but the cheese will melt.  When it’s all done you have this

DSCN2513If you do two pizzas what works well for us is cook the first side of one, then put the next one on.  While the second one is cooking you put toppings on the first, then when the second one is taken off it’s ready to go.  But you gotta make sure both people are watching to do this, because you don’t want to end up burning one pizza while you assemble the second.

These are enough to feed my fiance, and feed me plus leave me leftovers for lunch.  Adding olives, which will of course, kill you dead, means I get my leftovers 🙂

If you’re me and you make good choices then you have this

DSCN2523For dessert after downing two bottles of wine (between the two of us).  That would be ice cream, half a snickers, almond butter, and chocolate syrup.

And then for breakfast you have three excedrins, a lot of water, and some real food

DSCN2526One of the muffins (which are still just amazing me with how tasty they are-I don’t know if it was the pastry flour or the yogurt or what, but they’ve got an amazing texture), and greek yogurt with berries and honey. (True story by the way-the fiance doesn’t like greek yogurt.  Shocking, right?)

We’re going to dinner at my fiance’s boss’s house tonight.  The fiance works for the state, and it’s a dinner part of some decently high up state employees.  I don’t feel old enough for things like this.  (And, considering except for the fiance I’ll be at least 10 years younger than everyone there, and 20 or 30 younger than most of them, I’m not old enough for this).   I need to find an outfit where I don’t look 16, I still get carded for lotto tickets most of the time and usually I don’t mind, but I think that might be a little weird tonight  🙂

Do you ever have time where you don’t feel like you’re *really* a grown up?

One response to “Pizza on the Grill

  1. That pizza looks great! I love nights with the bf where we consume too much wine and too much dessert. Just fabulous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

