Busy Friday

Dinner last night was a quick grab whatever from the fridge night, and then we went to the gym.

The fiance had leftover peanut noodles, and I made this

DSCN2462Whole wheat spaghetti, chickpeas, broccoli, tomatoes, olives, and parm on top.  I love olives, and the fiance hates them, so I’ve got to commit to make it through this can, or I’ll feel like I’m being wasteful.

This morning I had one of the muffins from last night, plus coffee and half a nectarine  (the fiance got the other half)

DSCN2466The muffins are sooooo good!  This was the first time I used whole wheat pastry flour in them, and I think it gave them a nicer texture.

After dropping off the fiance (have I ever explained this?  My fiance works about an hour outside of Portland, and takes a vanpool there.  We have two cars, but his hasn’t been driven on a regular basis in two years, and is parked in our old neighborhood, uninsured.  So I get to drive him to the van and pick him up every day.  With no traffic, it’s a 20 minute round trip.  But in the evening there’s always traffic…), I went to Safeway.

They had cheap meat there, and we were out of chicken and ground beef.  Plus they had a $10 off when you spend $50 thing going on, so I worked hard to make sure the total was there.  I didn’t think it’d be that hard, but it was!  Mostly because a lot of their fruit wasn’t so good.  They had local organic peaches and nectarines on sale, but I gave them the sniff test and they didn’t smell like fruit at ALL.  Lame.  I didn’t want flavorless fruit, so I just got grapes and bananas.  Here’s my massive amount of groceries

DSCN2470

  • 4 lbs 90% lean ground sirloin
  • 4 lbs frozen boneless skinless chicken
  • a little over 2 lbs green grapes
  • 2 lbs carrots
  • Whole Wheat hamburger buns
  • 2 onions
  • 2 heads of broccoli
  • 2 cans of albacore tuna
  • 18 eggs
  • giant thing of coffeemate (the fiance takes it to work and puts it in his coffee)
  • 1 lb turkey lunch meat (for the fiance’s lunch)
  • 8 puddings (again, fiance’s lunch)
  • 2 jars of alfredo sauce
  • 2 lbs of Tillamook cheddar
  • 2 lbs bananas
  • 3 boxes of whole wheat pasta
  • 1 gallon of milk

And I spent $43 (I kept a list of how much everything cost while I was shopping to make sure I had enough to get the $10 off).  Not bad considering there’s 9 pounds of meat!   Plus the cheese, and the lack of whole wheat buns on sale.  (The ones I got are Franz, who I don’t trust since the time I bought whole wheat bread with high fructose corn syrup in it from them.  Who does that?! I scrutinize my bread labels now)

And now I’ve been tackling my monster to do list

DSCN2472Vacuum has been on my list for a good week solid now.  Whoops.  But it’s only 10:45 and I’ve got a good chunk crossed off.  And that’s without putting things like “eat” on it.  Which I sometimes do 🙂 (It feels good to cross things out!  Shower goes on the list somedays too)

I make lists for everything-I think it helps me get things done.  Although sometimes I use writing the list as a way to procrastinate… Are you a list maker?

One response to “Busy Friday

  1. April (Foods of April)

    I never thought of adding chickpeas to pasta.. sounds delicious! And a nice way to add some protein too!

    I love making lists..but I love crossing things off of the list more!

Leave a Reply

