MORE produce!

My parents being here means that I have, yet again, a ginormous amount of produce.

DSCN2276(yes, that’s an entire shopping bag FULL of peppers!)

The ziplock in the corner is basil.  My dad asked “you like basil, right”, and then got worried “I should’ve brought more”.  Because a quart sized bag just isn’t enough 🙂

The peppers are tricky for me-I don’t eat them unless I have them, so I’ve gotta figure out some creative things to use them for.  Any ideas?  

This morning I was in the mood for a savory breakfast, so I made this

DSCN2287It’s zucchini, tomato, pesto, and then a little bit milk and some cheese.  Weird for breakfast, but I like non breakfasty foods some days.  (I might eat chicken nuggets as breakfast sometimes too?  Let’s not judge).  

It was super tasty.  Pesto makes everything good.  And it’s actually kept me full, which I was doubtful on…

I did some grocery shopping today too.  I really like grocery shopping.  Like, a lot.  And since we make pretty much all our meals from scratch I end up running to the store a lot-I need flour, or milk, or more broccoli or whatever… Today I went to get peanuts, flour, and sour cream.  I came home with this:

 

whoops.

whoops.

I got 5 lbs of whole wheat flour (Bob’s Red Mill), bulk peanuts, bulk whole wheat pastry flour, bulk spelt flour, bulk wheat berries, an avocado,  a zucchini, cilantro, sour cream, Nancy’s Yogurt, Walla Walla onions, albacore tuna, and butter.  

If you can’t tell, I have problems resisting the bulk bins.  Then I get home and realize I now have 5 types of flour (WW, WW pastry, buckwheat, white, and spelt).  I should maybe stop.  

Nancy’s is my favorite yogurt.  I get the whole milk honey and it’s amazing!  It’s made in Eugene, Oregon and the milk comes from Oregon dairy farmers.  I’ve tried a million types of yogurt, and I just can’t get anything else.  The day that Nancy’s starts making Greek yogurt i will be the happiest girl on earth.  Expect to see me make some granola to go with the yogurt soon!  

And since it’s been rainy all morning, I’ve been doing this 

DSCN2286Full details this afternoon.

One response to “MORE produce!

  1. ooh, can’t wait to see the baking project! i have tons of flour, too. regular, ww, ww pastry, oat….too much! but i love it.

Leave a Reply

