Learning to Share

I’ve said it before.  I’m not always the best at sharing.

I’m especially bad at sharing the kitchen.  My husband will try and do things in it while I’m cooking (horrible annoying things like emptying the compost, or setting up the coffee maker.)  I shoo him out because really, I just can’t share.

I’d flunk kindergarten if I went back.

But I try to share sometimes.  Because I know I should.  And because if someone else helps, they have to help put things away too.

So the other night, I let my husband make cookies with me.  Because really, I spend my days telling children to share.  I need to practice what I preach.

We mixed together butter, sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla
Photobucket
Then added egg, baking powder and soda, salt, and flour.

We used whole wheat flour
Photobucket
Because we all know, if it’s whole wheat, it’s healthy!

And some peanut flour
Photobucket
I’m impressed with how I opened it upside down.  Clearly I went to college.

Then oats.
Photobucket
Oats are also whole grain.  So we’re basically making heath food here friends.

Chocolate and peanut butter chips
Photobucket
You need peanut butter chips and peanut butter in the cookies.  It’s science.

I shared the beater with my husband
Photobucket
Because it makes him happy. And because when I eat dough I think about getting salmonella.

Glooped it out
Photobucket
And look what we had!
Photobucket
Cookies!

And I didn’t yell at my husband ONCE!

Sharing is Caring Cookies

  • 1/2 c butter
  • 1/3 c white sugar
  • 1/3 c brown sugar
  • 1 t vanilla
  • dash of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/3 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/3 c peanut flour
  • 1 1/2 c oats
  • 1/3 c each peanut butter chips and chocolate chips

Cream butter sugars and vanilla

Add egg, salt, baking powder, peanut flour, and flour.  Mix.

Add oats, and chips, stir until combined.

Drop spoonfuls onto cookie sheet, and bake at 375 for about 9 minutes.

Makes about 2 dozen.
I am having some trouble sharing the cookies though.  I’ve eaten far more than my fair share.  Whoops.  Photobucket
Can you share the kitchen?  I really wish I could.  But I’m terrible at it.

I do, however, always share the dishes!  Those I am AWESOME at sharing.

11 responses to “Learning to Share

  1. I can *sorta* share my kitchen… I love cooking with Jason.

    CALL ME CRAZY, it’s actually the dishes I can’t share… Jason cannot load a dishwasher to save his life, nor does he possess the proper pre cleaning skills. (I am positive this is on purpose, and NOT that I am a control freak!) ;)

    nom nom Those cookies look fabulous.

  2. Those look so amazing. I might even make them with raisins as I’m one of those weirdos who loves them.

    Shoot – I was in TJ’s the other day and forgot to look for Peanut Flour. I heard it’s hard to find.

  3. I let Andy do dishes in the kitchen and cook raw meat. Only because I hate both of those things with a passion.

    I want cookies.

  4. I’m awful at sharing the kitchen especially with my boyfriend. He always cooks when I’m at swim practice to make it easier on both of us. :)

  5. Hehe – love the picture of the husband :-) Your house must always be full of laughter!

  6. sharing is for super nerds.

  7. so it’s good???? I dont have pastry flour..help!

  8. Those look good and super chewy! I’m also a terrible sharer. When I lived with my ex I literally would write my name on things and hide really good items (diet coke obvi). I hate hate hate sharing.

  9. I always share the dishes too!
    The cookies look so tasty. I’m planning another baking frenzy this weekend so I may give your recipe a whirl. But I don’t share the beater–that baby is mine! :)

  10. makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

  11. Pingback: A Holiday Cookie Post of Enormous Magnitude | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

